RSS

Entertainment Center

01 Oct

This is a solid pine entertainment center I built for my Pirate themed living room.  I wanted an entertainment center that would fit the look of pirate furniture but still have enough class to be appealing.

To start I made all of the larger panels that I would be using to make the top, bottom, and sides out of pine boards that I joined together using biscuits and glue. I clamped the boards together and let the glue dry.



After the glue dried, I sanded the boards down with a belt sander and then orbital sander.

After all of the boards were sanded, they were cut down to size with a circular saw.

The next step was routing out channels in order for the boards to fit into each other. I also routed a channel in the back of all the boards so that I could fit a 1/4″ plywood back on the entertainment center.

All the pieces were then glued together. Here you can clearly see the channels that were cut for the boards to fit into.

I used nails to keep it together as the glue dried more than as structural support.  If I would have had a lot of long clamps, I probably wouldn’t have used nails.

After the main box was built and the glue was dry, I cut down some boards into trim pieces and glued and nailed them on.

I drilled pocket holes in some boards to create feet and attached them to the bottom with glue and screws.

Using pegboard as a simple guide, I drilled holes for adjustable shelves.

I then attached the front vertical trim pieces with glue and pocket hole screws in order to add more structural support.

The main structure is complete!

I filled all of the nail holes with wood filler.

I built the doors using pocket holes and glue, and then routed a groove in the back for glass to fit into.

I built shelves out of 1/2″ plywood and attached a small strip of pine to the front edge with glue and nails in order to give it a finished look.

After a thorough sanding, I applied to coats of primer to the entire piece with a light sanding in between coats.

I then painted the entertainment center with a black acrylic enamel. (Sorry for the picture quality)

After the paint was completely dry, I sanded all of the edges in order to give it a worn or antiqued look.

I went back and painted all of the newly exposed wood with a wood finish.

Once the paint was dry, I nailed 1/4″ plywood on the back. Only the inside face of the plywood was painted.

I drilled three holes in the back with a 2 1/2″ hole saw in order for cords to pass through. I added grommets to the holes for a cleaner installation.

I installed the glass in the doors using silicone.  The glass was recessed into the door so I just ran a bead of silicone around the perimeter of the glass to hold it in place.

I wanted the glass to have an old and worn look so I taped off the doors and spray painted the edges of the glass with black paint.  While it was still wet, I took a paper towel to randomly blot some of the paint off.

The last step was to install all of the hardware, doors, and shelves.

Project Complete!

Materials Used:

  • 8- 8″x1″x10′ Pine Boards
  • 1/4″ Plywood
  • 1/2″ Plywood
  • Wood Glue
  • Pocket Hole Screws
  • Biscuits
  • Nails
  • Sandpaper
  • Silicone
  • Glass
  • Sherwin Williams Wall and Wood Primer
  • Sherwin Williams All Surface Enamel
  • Minwax Wood Finish
  • Wood Filler
  • Hardware

Tools Used:

  • Table Saw
  • Circular Saw
  • Miter Saw
  • Biscuit Joiner
  • Compressor with Nail Guns
  • Drill
  • Router
  • Belt Sander
  • Orbital Sander
  • Sanding Block
  • Pocket Hole Jig
  • Hole Saw
  • Drill Bits
  • Caulk Gun
  • Clamps
  • Rubber Mallet
  • Putty Knife
  • High Quality Mini Roller
  • Purdy Brush

Total Time: Approximately 40 Hours

Total Cost: Approximately $300 (With plywood and paint remaining for the next build)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2011 in Pirate Living Room

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

